How to delete an eBay account?

In this article, we will tell you about; How to delete an eBay account? If you are looking forward to deleting your eBay account for some reason and you do not know how to do it? Then you are at the right place as this article will show you: How you can deactivate your eBay account easily. In this article, you will see all about eBay and the process to delete an eBay account.

What is eBay?

eBay is an American multinational corporation that connects millions of buyers and sellers through one platform and facilitates business-to-consumer and consumer-to-consumer sales through its website. It was founded in 1995 by Pierre Omidyar and it has now become a global success and interacts with all the people around the world.

Can you deactivate an eBay account?

eBay lets you sign-up using your google id and password so you can buy or sell items on the website. If you have an account on eBay, then you can just sign in and discover new and cool items. And if you are wondering whether you can delete or remove your eBay account, then we assure you that you can deactivate your eBay account and this is a very simple and easy process.

What are the common reasons for someone to deactivate their eBay account?

People always have a reason to do stuff, whether it is something good or even bad, they always have a reason to do it. Likewise, people sometimes want to delete their accounts and there is always a reason behind it. Sometimes they do not like the features of a website and sometimes they get angry with a wrong delivery package or by getting scammed by the website. But mostly, people tend to delete their accounts because they do not mostly use it or they do not like using that website for some particular reason. But whatever reasons you have, you can still delete your eBay account and there is no problem with it. So let’s get to know how you can remove your eBay account forever. 

How to delete your eBay account?

If you have an eBay account and you want to delete it then here is the procedure. 

Step 1

Open ebay.com on your screen.

Step 2

If you have an account then sign in to your account.

Step 3

Your account will be present at the top left corner of the eBay home screen, click on it.

Step 4

Click on “Account settings”.

Account Setting

Step 5

A “My eBay” interface will open. It will have all your personal information on eBay and your account information too.

Step 6

Out of three titles named “Activity”, “Messages” and “Account”, choose the “Account” option.

Choose Account Option

Step 7

In the account tab, open “account-preference”.

Step 8

Click on “ Close account ”.

cloose account

Step 9

When you click on it, eBay will display a message showing “Closing account and personal data delete exceptions”. Scroll down and choose “Close account and delete data”.

Close account and delete data

Step 10

Then eBay will require your account information. Fill in your account information and then click on “continue”.

Step 11

eBay is a very successful platform as they always try to satisfy their customers and they do not want them to leave or delete their account, so they ask for your reason to leave the website. You can select any category of reasons you want. In our case, we have no particular reason to delete our eBay account but we are going to do it anyway, so we choose “Personal reasons”.

Step 12

Then eBay will ask you: What is your personal reason?. You can choose any of them. As for us, we choose “I’ve never used my account”. Click on “Continue”.

Step 13

Now eBay will try to satisfy their customers at any cost, so they will display a message asking you to not delete your account as it will not cost you anything. They will send you a dialogue box asking you if they solved your problem. But as you do not want to keep your account anymore, just choose the “ No, please close my account and delete personal data”.  

Step 14

Press “Continue”.

Step 15

eBay will send a confirmatory message to you that you really want to delete your account? Accept all the terms and conditions and click on “submit request”.

Step 16

eBay will show you a message showing that your request has been submitted and your account will be deleted within the next 30 days.

Step 17

You will receive a confirmation message on your email once your account gets deleted.

We tried our best for you to understand every single aspect of removing your eBay account. We hope you have understood all the processes. But if you still have any queries, then you can freely ask us in the comment section. We would love to make it up to you.

If you do not know how to create an eBay account, then you can go to this link How to create an eBay account. It has provided a full visual explanation of this process. 

You can also click here and check our related blogs.